Since its inception in 2005, Eleena Jamil Architect (EJA) has earned a reputation as one of Malaysia’s leading architectural practices. With its series of expanding portfolio, it successfully engages with the Asian city and its nuances to bring an accumulated richness of expression to the work produced. Projects by EJA studio are informed by the desire to root them to place by way of exploring the experiential potential of form, material and construction and a concern for the environmental, social and economic aspects of sustainability. As it continues to grow, EJA aspires to create more research-based, design-led architecture that is contemporary and rooted to its context, at all scales.

The studio is led by Eleena Jamil, who trained at the Welsh School of Architecture, Cardiff University in the United Kingdom. She continued working in the UK after her training before joining the architecture faculty at the Welsh School as a teaching assistant while completing her MPhil and PhD postgraduate research. Eleena set up her eponymous studio in Kuala Lumpur in 2005 and it has since been growing steadily with an expanding portfolio of work that has won international accolades. Projects developed within the studio have been widely published in international press and shortlisted for awards such as the World Architecture Festival Award, the Italian Plan Award, the LEAF Award and the American Architecture Prize.

Eleena is registered with Lembaga Arkitek Malaysia (LAM) and Persatuan Arkitek Malaysia (PAM) since 2005. She is also registered with Architects Registration Board (ARB UK) and has been a chartered member of the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) since 1999.